Words and music

Welcome and thanks for finding my still-in-the-shrink-wrap blog, MusicForMedia. What, you may ask, is this all about? Allow me to take a stab at answering that question. To do so, I have to tell you a bit about me.

I’m a career journalist and a lifelong musician. Currently I direct political coverage for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and www.stltoday.com; my staff blogs at www.stltoday.com/politicalfix, where you’ll find me from time to time.

Oh, the musician part. I’ve been banging on guitars, basses, keyboards and such for a long time, longer than I’d care to admit. You’d think, in fact, I’d be better at it by now.

Still, I have a side business, Music for Media Productions, that creates music for various commercial,  journalistic and creative uses here.  You can hear a bit of my non-commercial “pop” music here.

Like most anyone I know, I have deep and abiding interests in a bunch of incongruent areas. But journalism and music – words and melody – story and soundtrack – they do intersect.

And that very axis is where you find yourself now.

This blog will attempt to discuss music and its use in different media, especially in multimedia platforms. I’m fascinated with the process of creating music — from the first fluttering compositional ideas through writing and recording and finally disseminating the final product. And because I’ve spent my adult life chasing and creating stories, I am most interested in the ways music can communicate its own narrative.

That is what we’ll be talking about here. And I really hope you can join me from time to time.

Thanks for reading!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Words and music”

  1. Copy Editor’s Lament - the reactions « MusicForMedia Says:

    […] the news will find creative new ways of getting it to readers, viewers and listeners. And, as this blog’s very mission indicates, I believe that music can and ought to be a part of […]

Leave a Reply

