George Harrison “Let it Roll” collection released today


EMI released the definitive George Harrison collection today. Although there’s an old “Best of” CD still floating out there, this is the first collection to include tracks from his final release, 2002’s excellent “Brainwashed.”

Here’s the press release (including the track list) as I received it from EMI this morning:

Hollywood, California – June 16, 2009 – Today, Capitol/EMI releases George Harrison’s first-ever career-spanning solo hits collection, Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison, in CD and digital formats.  iTunes exclusively offers the digital album with a previously unreleased bonus track, Harrison’s earliest demo version of “Isn’t It A Pity.” The CD version includes a 28-page booklet featuring previously unseen and rare photos, and newly-written liner notes by Warren Zanes. The collection’s 19 tracks have been digitally remastered by Giles Martin at EMI’s Abbey Road Studios.

Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison is a gathering of material that takes us far into the territory that was ultimately a place unique to George Harrison,” writes Warren Zanes in his liner notes essay for the new collection.

This collection is the first to span Harrison’s entire solo recording career, including the #1 Billboard Pop singles “My Sweet Lord,” “Isn’t It A Pity,” “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth),” and “Got My Mind Set On You.”  Let It Roll also features live recordings of three timeless Harrison-penned Beatles songs, “Something,” “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” and “Here Comes The Sun,” from his 1971 all-star Concert For Bangladesh benefit at Madison Square Garden.

“The keyhole into the world of George Harrison is the music itself. Yet his songs and the accomplishments for which he’s remembered are inextricably bound—and those accomplishments are, without question, eclectic in scope,” Zanes writes.

George Harrison is a twice-inducted member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, as a solo artist and as a member of The Beatles, and an 11-time Grammy Award winner for his recordings with The Beatles, Traveling Wilburys, and as a solo artist.  On April 14, Harrison was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in Los Angeles.

Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison (CD, digital)

1. Got My Mind Set On You

2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)

3. The Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)

4. My Sweet Lord

5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh

6. All Things Must Pass

7. Any Road

8. This Is Love

9. All Those Years Ago

10. Marwa Blues

11. What Is Life

12. Rising Sun

13. When We Was Fab

14. Something [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh

15. Blow Away

16. Cheer Down

17. Here Comes The Sun [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh

18. I Don’t Want To Do It

19. Isn’t It A Pity

iTunes Bonus Track: Isn’t It A Pity (Earliest Demo Version)

UPDATE: Here are some of Harrison widow Olivia Harrison’s comments, via CNN.


5 Responses to “George Harrison “Let it Roll” collection released today”

  1. bd history | George Harrison “Let it Roll” collection released today … Says:

    […] is the original post:  George Harrison “Let it Roll” collection released today … Tags: beatles, california, concert, earth, george-harrison, guitar-gently, hollywood, music, […]

  2. Patrick Says:

    Looks great – I’ll definitely try to pick this up

  3. ittadi Says:

    nice music

  4. Jeff Lynne to complete George Harrison’s unfinished tracks « MusicForMedia: Creating music for a multimedia world Says:

    […] music, of course, was treated to a career retrospective released this week, “Let it Roll.” I just received a copy and I will be sharing my impressions […]

  5. matt dietrich Says:

    Neither “Crackerbox Palace” not “This Song” are on it. Strange.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: